This article may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
No single bank is best for every foreigner in Japan. PRESTIA and SBI Shinsei Bank offer the most English after you open an account. Japan Post Bank is often the easiest first account, but its app only takes Japanese input. We compared eight banks on six points, using only their official pages, as of October 2026.
Key facts (as of October 2026)
- Most English support: PRESTIA (English branches and phone banking) and SBI Shinsei Bank (English internet banking and web support).
- English app menus: Japan Post Bank’s account app and the Mizuho app can show English. Rakuten Bank’s app is Japanese only.
- Monthly fee: PRESTIA charges ¥2,200 a month unless you meet its conditions.
- Changed recently: Sony Bank ended English online banking in March 2026. SBI Shinsei stopped branch opening for non-Japanese customers from July 2026.
If you want step-by-step opening instructions, read How to Open a Bank Account in Japan as a Foreigner. This guide helps you choose.
How we compared the banks
We did not rank the banks with a score. Each person needs different things, so we checked the same six points for each bank instead.
- English screens. Is there an English website or app?
- No branch visit. Can you apply online or by mail?
- Under 6 months in Japan. Does the bank accept you?
- Hanko (personal seal). Can you sign instead?
- Overseas transfers. Does the bank offer them?
- English help. Can you ask questions in English?
We used each bank’s official pages only. Fees appear only where the bank states them clearly.
How do the banks compare?
Here is the short version. Details and sources for each bank follow below.
| Bank | English screens | Apply without a branch | Under 6 months | Signature OK | Overseas transfers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japan Post Bank | App menus in 7 languages, Japanese input | Yes (app) | No 6-month rule stated | App needs no hanko | Yes, online |
| MUFG | English opening guide | No | Yes, with limits | No, hanko needed | Yes, form in English |
| SMBC | English form guide (PDF) | Yes (app) | Web form: residents only | Yes | Service page exists |
| Mizuho | English FAQ, app in English | Yes, in Japanese | Limited account type | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Rakuten Bank | English application form only | Yes | No | Not stated | Service page exists |
| SBI Shinsei | English internet banking | Yes (mail only) | Yes, if you work or study here | Yes | Receive yes, send via SBI Remit |
| PRESTIA | English site and phone banking | Yes | Only if employed in Japan | Not stated | Yes |
| Seven Bank | ATM and web in English | Yes (ATM or web) | Web: proof of work needed | Not stated | Yes |
Sources are in the bank sections below.
Japan Post Bank in English: easy to open, Japanese to use
Japan Post Bank lets you apply with your residence card and phone in the Yucho Tetsuzuki app. The app shows 7 languages, including English. (Japan Post Bank)
The catch is input. The bank says that whatever language you choose, you can only type in Japanese. (Japan Post Bank) Phone support is in Japanese only. (Japan Post Bank)
Japan Post Bank offers overseas transfers online. It accepts money from abroad in USD and EUR only. (Japan Post Bank)
Good for: New arrivals who need an account fast and have some Japanese help.
MUFG Bank in English: a guide page, then the branch
MUFG has an English page that explains account opening. Foreign nationals can’t use its app to open an account, so you must visit a branch. (MUFG, MUFG)
MUFG asks for a hanko and rejects rubber stamps. Non-residents can open an account, but internet banking and cards are limited. (MUFG)
Online, a few internet banking tasks offer machine translation. These include address changes and transfers. (MUFG) For overseas transfers, you fill in an English web form, print it, and take it to a designated branch. It takes at least 3 business days. (MUFG)
Good for: People in their first 6 months who can visit a branch and have a hanko.
SMBC in English: app opening with your residence card
SMBC lets foreign nationals open an account in the SMBC app (Olive) with a residence card. You need a phone that receives text messages. (SMBC) We could not confirm from official pages whether the app has an English mode.
SMBC publishes an English guide for its paper form. It shows you can choose a hanko or a signature with a PIN. (SMBC) The web form is for foreign exchange residents only. (SMBC)
Good for: Residents past 6 months who want a megabank account without a branch visit.
Mizuho in English: the app switches to English
Mizuho’s app can display English. (Mizuho) Account opening itself is in Japanese only, online or at a branch. (Mizuho)
You can use a seal or a signature, but not a rubber stamp. (Mizuho) The standard account has no paper passbook. A paper passbook costs ¥1,100 per book. Non-residents can’t hold the combined account type (sogo koza). (Mizuho)
Good for: People who want a megabank app in English and can get help with the Japanese application.
Rakuten Bank in English: English form, Japanese after that
Rakuten Bank has an English application form. After the bank registers your application, its services are in Japanese only. The app is also Japanese only. (Rakuten Bank)
Non-residents of Japan can’t apply. Enter your name exactly as on your residence card. A middle name goes in the first name field. (Rakuten Bank)
Good for: People comfortable using a Japanese app after signup.
SBI Shinsei and PRESTIA: the most English after opening
These two banks keep English running after you open an account. They differ in cost and how they support you.
SBI Shinsei Bank offers English internet banking and customer support. (SBI Shinsei) It stopped English phone calls on October 1, 2024. You now ask questions through web forms or book a callback. (SBI Shinsei) Non-Japanese customers can apply by mail only, and you can sign instead of using a hanko. (SBI Shinsei, SBI Shinsei) More in SBI Shinsei Bank in English.
PRESTIA (SMBC Trust Bank) has an English website, English phone banking, and branches for English speakers. Its GLOBAL PASS Visa debit card holds yen and 17 foreign currencies. (PRESTIA) The account costs ¥2,200 a month unless you meet the bank’s conditions. (PRESTIA)
| Point | SBI Shinsei | PRESTIA |
|---|---|---|
| English channels | Internet banking, web forms, callback | Website, phone banking, English branches |
| How to apply | Online request, then mail | Online |
| Under 6 months | OK if you list your job or school | Only if employed at an office in Japan |
| Monthly fee | Not stated on the pages we checked | ¥2,200 unless conditions are met |
Good for: People who want to manage money in English for years.
Seven Bank: English ATMs on every corner
Seven Bank lets you open an account at its newer ATMs. The screens are in Japanese and English. (Seven Bank) Its ATMs support 9 languages, and its contact center has multilingual staff. (Seven Bank)
There is one current limit. Seven Bank can’t accept residence cards issued from June 14, 2026 yet. (Seven Bank) It also offers an international money transfer service. (Seven Bank)
Good for: People with an older residence card who want simple English ATM access.
Which bank fits whom?
Match your situation to a starting point. You can open a second account later.
| Your situation | Banks to look at first | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Arrived less than 6 months ago, have a job or school | SBI Shinsei, MUFG, Japan Post Bank | None of them bans new arrivals outright |
| Want English for daily banking | PRESTIA, SBI Shinsei | English online banking and support |
| Don’t have a hanko | SBI Shinsei, SMBC, Mizuho | They accept a signature |
| Need to send money home often | PRESTIA, Seven Bank, Japan Post Bank | They offer overseas transfers |
| Want to avoid a monthly fee | Check PRESTIA’s conditions before choosing it | PRESTIA charges ¥2,200 a month otherwise |
| Used Sony Bank in English | See Sony Bank English Service Ended | Its English service changed in 2025 and 2026 |
Every bank reviews applications and can refuse. (MUFG) Applying to a bank that fits your situation lowers the chance of a wasted trip.
What about investing?
None of these banks is an English NISA window. To invest with NISA, you need a brokerage account. See Best NISA Accounts for Foreigners.
FAQ
What is the best bank in Japan for foreigners?
It depends on your needs. PRESTIA and SBI Shinsei offer the most English after opening. Japan Post Bank is often the easiest first account for new arrivals.
Does Japan Post Bank have English?
Its account app shows English menus, but you must type in Japanese. Phone support is Japanese only. (Japan Post Bank)
Is the MUFG app in English?
MUFG offers machine translation for some internet banking tasks. Foreign nationals can’t open an account through its app. (MUFG, MUFG)
Can I use Rakuten Bank in English?
Only the application form is in English. After that, services and the app are in Japanese. (Rakuten Bank)
Which banks accept a signature instead of a hanko?
SMBC, Mizuho, and SBI Shinsei accept a signature. MUFG asks for a hanko. (SMBC, Mizuho, SBI Shinsei)
Does PRESTIA charge a fee?
Yes. PRESTIA charges ¥2,200 a month unless you meet its conditions. Check the conditions on its page before you apply. (PRESTIA)
This article is general information, not financial or tax advice. Information is as of October 5, 2026. Bank services change often, so check each bank’s official page before you apply. Sources: each bank’s official pages linked above.