This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status does not affect the order or content of our tables.
Foreign residents can open a NISA account at many Japanese brokers, but few work in English. As of October 2026, Interactive Brokers Securities Japan is the only broker we found with English online opening and NISA. Rakuten, Matsui, PayPay, and moomoo take online applications in Japanese. SBI, Monex, and several others accept foreign nationals by mail only.
Key facts (as of October 2026)
- Who can open a NISA account: Residents of Japan aged 18 or older on January 1 of that year. The rules set no nationality requirement. (FSA)
- How many: One NISA account per person, at one financial institution. (FSA)
- What you need: Your residence card (zairyu card, 在留カード) and My Number. Some brokers also need 2 or 3 months left on your card.
- English online opening with NISA: Interactive Brokers Securities Japan only, among the brokers we checked.
- Risk: Investment trusts are not principal-guaranteed. You can lose money, even inside NISA.
How we compared the brokers
We did not rank the brokers. “Best” here means the broker that fits your language level and situation. We checked each broker’s official pages on October 5, 2026, and used six criteria:
- English site: Is there an English website for individual customers?
- English online opening: Can you apply online in English?
- NISA: Does the broker offer a NISA account?
- iDeCo: Does the same broker offer iDeCo?
- US persons: Can US citizens, green card holders, or US taxpayers open an account?
- Residence card validity: How long must your card stay valid?
We left out fees. They change often, and we could not verify them for every broker. Check each broker’s fee page before you apply.
NISA brokers compared: English, online opening, and US persons
Only one broker meets all the English criteria. Most others accept foreign residents, but in Japanese or by mail.
| Broker | English site | How foreign nationals apply | NISA | iDeCo | US persons | Residence card |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interactive Brokers Securities Japan (IBSJ) | Yes | Online, in English (IBSJ) | Yes, since July 30, 2025 (IBSJ) | Not listed | No nationality limit stated, except sanctioned countries (IBSJ) | Front and back copy (IBSJ) |
| SBI Securities | Not found | By mail only (SBI) | Yes | Yes | New purchases of some products limited | 2+ months left |
| Rakuten Securities | Not found | Online, in Japanese (Rakuten) | Yes | Yes | Opening has a FATCA step for US taxpayers (Rakuten) | 3+ months left |
| Monex | Corporate pages only | By mail only (Monex) | Yes | Yes | No foreign stocks, funds, or bonds (Monex) | Must show your name in English letters |
| Matsui Securities | IR pages only | Online, in Japanese (Matsui) | Yes | Yes | No US stock account (Matsui) | Card, special permanent resident certificate, or juminhyo |
| PayPay Securities | No | Online, in Japanese (PayPay) | Yes | Yes | Mini app excludes US nationals (PayPay) | Card plus My Number Card |
| moomoo Securities | Windows app in English | Online (moomoo) | Yes (moomoo) | Not listed | Not accepted | 2+ months left |
| MUFG eSmart Securities | No | By mail only (MUFG eSmart) | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Front and back copy |
| SMBC Nikko | Corporate pages only | Call 0120-860-250 for paper forms (SMBC Nikko) | Yes | Yes | Not stated | 3+ months left |
| Nomura | No | By mail only (Nomura) | Yes | Not confirmed | Not stated | Front and back copy |
“Not stated” means we found no official rule. It does not mean the broker accepts you. Ask the broker directly.
Daiwa Securities sits in between. Foreign nationals can’t use its quick online route with a My Number Card. Other online routes work, but Daiwa calls to confirm your nationality, so it takes longer. (Daiwa)
Is SBI Securities fully online for foreigners?
No. Several English guides describe SBI as fully online. SBI’s own FAQ says foreign nationals must apply by mail, a rule in place since November 18, 2019. (SBI, SBI notice) Monex has the same rule for foreign nationals and US taxpayers. (Monex)
Mail is slower, but the account itself works the same way once it opens.
Interactive Brokers Japan: the English option
IBSJ is the only broker we found that lets you do everything in English. Its website, application, and FAQ are in English. It also has an English phone line at 03-4590-0711. (IBSJ)
IBSJ started NISA on July 30, 2025. It covers both the growth investment quota and the tsumitate investment quota. (IBSJ, IBKR press release)
Know the limits before you apply:
- No iDeCo. We found no iDeCo service on IBSJ’s site. You would need a second company for iDeCo.
- US persons and NISA. IBSJ accepts citizens of all countries except sanctioned ones. We could not confirm whether US persons can open a NISA account there.
- Foreign PEPs. Foreign politically exposed persons can’t open an account. (IBSJ)
- Documents. You need both sides of your residence card and a My Number document. (IBSJ)
Brokers you can join online in Japanese
Rakuten, Matsui, PayPay, and moomoo accept online applications from foreign residents. The screens are in Japanese, and we found no English support listed on their official pages.
- Rakuten Securities accepts only a residence card or special permanent resident certificate as ID. Your card needs at least 3 months left. (Rakuten)
- Matsui Securities accepts applicants of any nationality. People who have lived abroad for a year or more count as non-residents and can’t apply. (Matsui)
- PayPay Securities uses your My Number Card plus your residence card. (PayPay)
- moomoo Securities needs a residence card with 2+ months left and a My Number document. It offers NISA but lists no iDeCo. (moomoo)
If you read some Japanese, or have a friend who does, these brokers are faster than mail.
Brokers that take foreign nationals by mail
SBI, Monex, MUFG eSmart, Nomura, and SMBC Nikko don’t accept online identity checks (eKYC) from foreign nationals. You request paper forms and send copies of your residence card.
- SBI Securities needs a card with 2+ months left and your My Number. (SBI)
- Monex needs a residence card that shows your name in English letters. It does not accept an alias (tsushomei). (Monex)
- MUFG eSmart Securities (formerly au Kabucom) asks for both sides of your residence card. (MUFG eSmart)
- SMBC Nikko asks you to call its contact center for forms. Your card needs 3+ months left. (SMBC Nikko)
These brokers suit you if you want NISA and iDeCo at one company and don’t mind waiting.
Which broker fits you?
Start with your language level and residency situation. This table is a starting point, not a recommendation.
| Your situation | Brokers to look at first | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You want everything in English | IBSJ | Only one with English online opening and NISA |
| You read some Japanese and want to apply online | Rakuten, Matsui, PayPay, moomoo | Online applications accepted from foreign residents |
| You want NISA and iDeCo at one company | SBI, Rakuten, Monex, Matsui, PayPay, MUFG eSmart, SMBC Nikko | All list both services |
| Your card expires in less than 3 months | Renew first | SBI and moomoo need 2+ months. Rakuten and SMBC Nikko need 3+ |
| You are a US citizen or green card holder | Check each broker | moomoo and the PayPay mini app don’t accept you. Monex, SBI, and Matsui limit some products |
US persons face extra tax questions about foreign investment funds. We don’t cover those here. Talk to a tax professional before you invest.
Do English-friendly banks offer NISA?
Mostly no. A bank with English service does not give you an English NISA route.
- PRESTIA (SMBC Trust Bank) has English branches and phone banking. It does not offer NISA accounts. (PRESTIA)
- Sony Bank offers NISA, but its English help says funds and NISA are handled in Japanese only. (Sony Bank)
- SBI Shinsei Bank sells funds through an SBI Securities or Monex account. (SBI Shinsei)
A bank account is still useful. You need one to fund your brokerage account. See How to Open a Bank Account in Japan.
How to open a NISA account: the steps
The process is similar at every broker. Here is the overview. For a detailed walkthrough, see How to Open a NISA Account in English.
- Check your card. Make sure your residence card has enough time left for your broker.
- Get your My Number ready. You must tell the broker your name, birth date, address, and My Number. (NTA)
- Apply for a brokerage account with NISA. Use the online form or request paper forms, depending on the broker.
- Wait for the review. Brokers check each application and can refuse it. Approval is not guaranteed.
- Fund the account and choose a quota. Send money from your Japanese bank account. Then pick tsumitate, growth, or both.
You can’t use the tsumitate and growth quotas at different companies. Both must be at one institution. (FSA)
NISA basics: limits and what’s tax-free
NISA lets you invest without paying the roughly 20% tax on gains and dividends. (FSA) The limits are the same at every broker.
| Item | Limit |
|---|---|
| Tsumitate investment quota | ¥1.2 million per year |
| Growth investment quota | ¥2.4 million per year |
| Combined yearly limit | ¥3.6 million |
| Lifetime tax-free limit | ¥18 million, of which growth is up to ¥12 million |
| Tax-free period | No end date |
Source: FSA. When you sell, the purchase cost of what you sold frees up limit from the next year. (FSA)
Losses in NISA can’t offset gains in a taxable account, and you can’t carry them forward. (FSA) Investment trusts are not principal-guaranteed, so the value can fall below what you paid. For a fuller guide, read NISA for Foreigners in Japan. To compare with the pension option, see iDeCo vs NISA.
FAQ
Can foreigners open a NISA account in Japan?
Yes, if you live in Japan and are 18 or older on January 1 of that year. The FSA rules don’t set a nationality requirement. (FSA) Each broker still reviews your application.
Which broker lets me open a NISA account in English?
Interactive Brokers Securities Japan, among the brokers we checked. Its application, website, and FAQ are in English. (IBSJ)
Can I open NISA accounts at two brokers?
No. You can have one NISA account per person. (FSA) You can switch brokers once a year, though.
How do I switch my NISA to another broker?
File a change form with your current broker between October 1 of the prior year and September 30. If you already bought in NISA that year, the change applies from the next year. (FSA)
What happens to my NISA if I leave Japan?
It depends on why you leave. For a temporary transfer by your employer, you can file a form to keep holdings tax-free for a set period. Brokers may not support this. If you leave without filing it, your NISA account is treated as closed. (FSA, e-Gov)
Do I need a Japanese bank account first?
In practice, yes. You fund your brokerage account by transfer, so open a bank account first. See How to Open a Bank Account in Japan.
This article is general information, not investment or tax advice. We do not recommend any specific fund or stock. Information is as of October 5, 2026. Broker rules change often, so check each broker’s official page before you apply. Sources: FSA NISA site, FSA NISA FAQ, NTA, and each broker’s pages linked above.